It is possibly the most sought after right now. And is not for less. After the bombing dropped by Netflix Over the changes to your account sharing policythere are many users who have cried to heaven and threatened that they are going to unsubscribe from the platform. Is it your case? So we are not going to beat around the bush: here we explain the steps to follow to cancel your account and say goodbye to the streaming content service. Take note.
Cancel streaming plan
The offer of platforms is so varied today that considering unsubscribing from one of these services is not as much drama as before. Now if you are not on Netflix, you can enjoy HBO, Disney+ and/or Amazon Prime Video, where you will also find endless series, movies and documentaries to enjoy wherever and whenever you want -and at cheaper prices.
If you have decided that, after the latest changes in the company, it is time to say goodbye of the red N, so you know that unsubscribing is extremely easy if you know where to click. Because no, signing out or removing the Netflix app from your iPad does not cancel your account. Nor can you do it directly on your Smart TV. Keep that in mind.
From your PC (via web)
These are the Steps to follow from a web browser:
- Access Netflix.com and sign in with your account if you are not logged in.
- Once inside, click on your profile image (avatar) in the upper right corner.
- A menu will be displayed. Click on “Account”.
- In the first section, “Subscription and Billing” you will see a gray button that says “Cancel subscription”. Click on it.
- A box will appear notifying you of your billing period and giving you the option to cancel the subscription or change your plan if you prefer a cheaper one.
- Click the blue “Complete Cancellation” button.
Your Netflix account will remain active until the end of the current billing period (which will vary depending on when you signed up). The expiration date will be shown in the same cancellation box. Once that day has arrived, you will not be able to access it again and you will not be charged any fee on your card again.
If you prefer an even shorter and more direct path, you can enter this web address (making sure you are logged in) and follow the steps from point 4either in this other directionclick on “Cancel streaming plan” (making sure again that you have logged in) and again on the blue “Complete cancellation” button.
From the app on your smartphone
In case you prefer to use the app on your phone, the steps are just as simple:
- Access the app on your phone and make sure you are logged in.
- Within your profile, tap on your avatar (image of your profile) in the upper right corner.
- In the menu that appears, go to “Account”.
- You will see a gray box that says “Cancel subscription”. Tap on it.
- A message will notify you that your cancellation will take effect at the end of your billing period.
- Tap on the blue “Complete Cancellation” button.
Questions and answers
We are going to try to solve some doubts that may arise about unsubscribing from your Netflix account.
How long can you continue to watch Netflix after the account is cancelled? Is the access restriction immediate?
You will be able to continue watching Netflix with your account until the end of your billing period. If you unsubscribe on February 9 and you signed up on the 20th, you will be able to continue enjoying the service until February 20, since the monthly payment has already been paid and they will not return it to you. At that day, you will no longer have access.
My account works thanks to a gift card and promotional offer
Likewise, even if you cancel, you will be able to continue enjoying the balance offered by the promotional card. Only at the end of this, the account will stop renewing and you will not be able to access it.
How do I prevent someone else in the house from reactivating the account?
To ensure that no one at home reactivates the account, we recommend that once cancelled, change the password and select “Required to log in again on all devices with the new password. This will sign you out on all devices where your account might still be open.
I don’t see the option to cancel
Perhaps your account was registered through another company that is in charge of making your monthly payment. In this case, the steps that we have indicated a few lines above do not work for you and you will have to contact said company to take care of your cancellation.
I’ve repented and I’m going back! Are my preferences and data saved?
In case you return, know that your Netflix viewing preferences and activity will remain saved for 10 months after you unsubscribed. If during that period, you sign up to Netflix again, you will recover your recommendations, ratings you made, your account details, game history and even your saved games. After that time, all this will be erased and you will have to start over.