If you restore you lose the data, not your version of MIUI
The truth is that MIUI survives, but you can’t restore a Xiaomi without losing data. When you factory reset a mobile, the software is not erased or reverts to a previous update, only the personal data on your device disappears.
To factory reset your device you must follow these steps:
- Open ‘Settings‘.
- Select the section ‘over the phone‘.
- Choose the option ‘Factory reset‘.
- Before continuing with the process you must make sure that you have made a backup your data in the cloudso as not to have any problem when recovering them.
- Finally, click on the button ‘Delete all data‘ and confirm the action with your PIN.
Once the device restarts, it will start doing it as if you just took it out of the box, although in this case it will not have to be updated, since moving to a previous version of MIUI is not so simple like factory resetting the device, so you can rest easy on that aspect.
There is a belief that only the updates that bring the new version of Android are the ones that will not be deleted when resetting the mobile, but this fact applies to any type of system update.