Since its all-time high of some 336 million users in 2018, Twitter it has lost some users to more “trendy and hip” social media platforms and, of course, Elon Musk’s bulldozing into a china shop.
Yet there it is, hanging in there with millions and millions of active users. Even so, there are many who are deciding to unsubscribe and go to other platforms such as the already mentioned Mastodon or simply get away from social networks for a while to detox.
With all this on the table, it is good that you know what happens to your account once you delete it. First of all, it doesn’t go away until 30 days have passed. However, after that time has elapsed, your username is valid. The problem can come when you used your real name or you are a known character.
If you delete your Twitter and someone gets your name, they can tweet as if it were you. And what’s worse, once Twitter Blue returns, they have the possibility of “verifying” themselves with a blue check. Tweets from this account would seem to come from you without you being the one behind it.
Do not deactivate your account, better follow these instructions to escape from Elon Musk
The first thing you should do is use an app like Tweet Deleter to make sure you delete all your tweets. You can sign in with your Twitter credentials and the service will clean up your bill. It even removes the likes.
After this, it is time to close the account:
- Start by going to Settings and privacy
- Privacy & Security
- Audience and labeling
- Choose “Protect your tweets”. If you have any remaining public information linked to your account, such as likes, taking the account private will prevent non-followers from seeing it.
Finally edit your profile. Change your header, description, and profile picture. Lastly, change your password to one that’s impossible to guess.
If you want to take the path that Twitter offers you, these are the steps
Of course, if these are not your cases and you either had a strange name or nobody knows you, it is better that you take the normal path that Twitter offers you and deactivate your account.
First, make a Twitter backup if you want to delete your account. And, it is better not to delete a Twitter account hastily. After all, you may have had some memorable moments during your time on the platform, or maybe you’ve shared some photos or videos that you’d rather not lose.
Unfortunately, there isn’t a “delete Twitter account” button that you can click to delete all your data on the platform.
To delete your Twitter account, you must first deactivate it. When you do it, Twitter will store your account and data for 30 days. During this time, your profile photo, username, and display name will not be visible to anyone on Twitter. You won’t be able to see tweets or send and receive direct messages. However, you can change your mind and reactivate your account.
After 30 days, Twitter will permanently delete all your dataand it will no longer be possible to recover your account.